2016 High School Festival Region Results


Apollo High School’s production of “Miss Polly’s Institute for Criminally Damaged Young Ladies Puts on a Show” will move on to state. It came in at 38:09.

Davies County High’s production of “The Giver” timed at 45:29 and will be the alternate entry if Apollo chooses not to participate in state.


The three entries were:  Scott H.S. – “All You Can Do” (a student written play); Simon Kenton H.S. – “Designer Genes”; and Bracken County H.S. – “May I Have Your Attention, Please?”

Adjudicators’ Discretionary Awards were given to:

Jenna Griphover (“Playwriting Award”)

Simon Kenton (“Performance of Current Social Issues”)

Bracken Co. (“Use of Music”). 

Named to the All-Star Cast for the North Regional were Justin Hamm (Scott H.S.); Chelsea Russell (Simon Kenton); Lyndsey Monahon (Bracken Co.). 

Scott H.S. was named the alternate show, and Bracken Co. received the “Outstanding Performance” Award and the invitation to perform at the State Festival.


KTA North West Regional High School Festival Awards:

Discretionary Awards:

o   Blues: Spencer  – Excellence in Ensemble Work

o   Voices: Bardstown – Most Heartfelt Moment


All Star Cast Awards:

o   Space Girls: Atherton – Allison McKiernan

o   Blues: Spencer – Jill Sharp

o   Voices: Bardstown – Victoria Harris


Outstanding Production:

o   Space Girls: Atherton



Outstanding Production

Bryan Station High School – “The Cagebirds”

Scapa – “Dear Kitty”

* Runner Up (alternate to move on to State) Paul Laurence High School – “Monster”


All Star Actors 2016 – Central Kentucky

Alex Simpson              Scapa

Kayla Stanley              Bryan Station High School

Kierra Spencer            Tates Creek High School

Lily Rasmussen           Lafayette High School

Maddie McQueen       Paul Laurence High School    

Wil Hinkle                   Lexington Catholic



Judges Discretionary Awards:

Bryan Station High School                  Concept, Composition, Costumes & Color

Lafayette High School                         Dialects

Lafayette High School                         Best Newcomer

Lexington Catholic                              Physical Comedy

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School     Sound Effects

Tates Creek High School                     Ambiance



Advancing to State:

Clay County HS – How to Kiss a Girl
Corbin HS – Still Waters Run Deep

Adjudicators’ Discretionary Awards:

Whitley County HS – Excellence in Costume / Make-Up Design

Corbin HS – Excellence in Vocal Performance

Clay County HS – Excellence in Ensemble Performance

Greenup County HS – Excellence in Technical Design

East Regional All-Star Cast – Brice Smith (Clay Co.), Megan Leger (Corbin), Sydney Hulgen (Greenup Co.), Lindsay Jones (McCreary Co.), Alexia Williams (Perry Co. Central), Rachel Meadors (Whitley Co.)

Leave a Reply

Related Posts