Awards Archive

High School Festival Winners

  • 2015 Corbin High School
  • 2014 Owensboro High School
  • 2014 Tates Creek High School
  • 2013 Owensboro High School
  • 2012 Owensboro High School
  • 2011 Corbin High School
  • 2010 Owensboro High School
  • 2009 Owensboro High School
  • 2008 Paul Laurence Dunbar High School
  • 2007 School for the Creative and Performing Arts at Lafayette High School

Community Theatre Festival Winners

  • 2015 Paramount Arts Center/Paramount Players
  • 2015 Actors for Children Theatre
  • 2014 The Village Players of Fort Thomas
  • 2014 Actors for Children Theatre
  • 2013 Quilters Artist Collaborative Theatre
  • 2012 Hardin County Playhouse
  • 2011 Artists Collaborative Theatre
  • 2010 Hardin County Playhouse
  • 2009 Balagula Theatre
  • 2008 Glema Mahr Center for the Arts
  • 2007 Merely Players of Owensboro

Roots of the Bluegrass New Play Festival Winners


Full-length Play Finalists:

  • Boxes by Catherine Goguen & J. Michael Radford
  • Poor Little Edward by Cody Taylor
  • CPR on the Lost Continent by Brian Walker  (Winner)

10 Minute Play Winner

  • Roscoe-N-Junebug by Steven R. Bond 


Full-length Play Finalists:

  • A Passing Moment by John Kelly 
  • According to John by David John Preece
  • The Prince of Riker’s Island by Mike Meadors (Winner)

Inaugural 10-Minute Play Winner:

  • Strangers in the Park by Morgan Patton



  • A Closet in Kentucky by Justin Ayer
  • A Certain Grace by Teresa Jenkins (Teresa Lee Fowler)
  • Dog by  Brian Walker (Winner)



  • Sex Again by Heidi Saunders
  • FB: A Ghost Story by Brian Walker
  • The Room by Jim Inman (Winner)



  • Sumbahdee by Donna Phillips
  • Crossing the Line by Toni Wiley
  • The Pictures by Gary Eldridge (Winner)



  • Pump Works by Heidi Saunders
  • A Fine Year for Mushrooms by Elizabeth Shear Orendorff 
  • Papa and Blue Angel by Clarence Hettinger (Winner)



  • Gone Astray by Walter May
  • Bernice Sizemore’s 70th Birthday by Nancy Gall-Clayton
  • Aiden’s Gift by Elizabeth Shear Orendorff (winner)

Middle School Festival


Spirit of the Road Award (given by backstage crew and festival staff for sportsmanship, cooperation and demeanor) – Twenhofel Middle School

*Best Production Design – High School Musical, Jr. / Twenhofel

*Best Ensemble – Cast of Miss Beth, Newport Middle School

*Duality in Character Development – Nora Knight and Ella Kennedy as Puck / Spencer Co. Middle School

All-Star Cast –
Davis Mattingly / Tates Creek Middle
Hailey Clemmons / Spencer Co.
Hayden Mitchell / Twenhofel
Reese Couture /Ashland Middle School
Brooklyn Rice / Newport Middle

Best Performer –
Matthew Louis / Spencer Co.
Addie Collard / Newport Middle

Outstanding Production –
A Midsummer Night’s Dream / Spencer Co.

*judges’ discretionary awards